Goals. Yes, they’re sappy again.

February 2, 2009

Forgive the cliche, but while the semester is young, I’m going to make a list of things I want to do during my internship. Better now than in May when it’s too late, right? So bear with me please. These aren’t in order of importance.

During my time at this internship, I will…

  • Get through the semester without going “Office Space” on my work computer. Seriously, me + it + slo mo + “Still” + a baseball bat + an open field would be bliss. And no, internet police, that’s not a legitimate threat.
  • Feel like I’ve made a difference. Not just by putting together a super spreadsheet, either.  I know it’s a lot to ask for an intern to make a significant contribution by doing substantive work, but hey, I can dream.
  • Really get to know everyone in the office, not just the people I interact with the most each day. Not just for a reference, but because they’re all really genuinely interesting people.
  • Learn! About lobbying, Congress, and all the specific issues that affect the firm’s clients.
  • Go to work on a full night’s sleep at least once.
  • Bring my lunch more.
  • Go with the firm’s members and clients on a visit to the Hill.
  • Change my mind about an issue that I research — especially if it crosses party lines. If I’m going to preach bipartisanship, I’d like to have my beliefs match.
  • Drink less coffee.
  • Decide whether this is something that I could do in real life someday…or if it’s something that I’d want to do.
  • No matter how tired or bored or frustrated I am with it, make every effort to enjoy my commute. I love this city and I’m lucky to be here. I don’t ever want to take living in DC for granted.

Your link for the week: PostRejects. Read only if you check PostSecret and have a sense of humor. This is to temper that last bullet point that was so annoyingly filled with bright-eyed wonder.

Leave a Reply

